SIGecom Home

Events & CFPs

Jobs, etc.



Working Papers

Other Resources

CFP issue 6.2

Publication Schedule

Author Guidelines

Past Issues

Complete Paper List




Summer, 2003 Vol. 4.2

Message from the Chair

As the new officers for ACM SIGecom, we would like to initiate some regular (but not overly frequent!) communications with the membership, to keep you informed of SIG activities and to solicit your suggestions for future directions of SIGecom.

First, let us take this opportunity to thank the Founder and outgoing Chair of the SIG, Stuart Feldman, for all he has done to establish this group and support the nascent e-commerce technical community.

Second, we remind you that the core SIGecom services are (1) convening the annual ACM Conference on Electronic Commerce (EC), and (2) publishing the quarterly newsletter, SIGecom Exchanges.  For further information and links, see our home page

For those of you who could not attend and have not heard, EC-03 was held in San Diego in June (as part of the FCRC multi-conference), and was a great success.  We distributed copies of the Proceedings to all SIGecom members, who also have access to all publications from past SIGecom events through the ACM Digital Library (whether or not you or your institution are subscribers).

Third, we are pleased to announce that the EC-04 conference will be held in May 2004, in New York City in conjunction with the International World-Wide Web Conference.  Jack Breese is General Chair, and Joan Feigenbaum and Margo Seltzer are Program Co-Chairs, with a mandate to broaden the conference to cover more areas of e-commerce research.

Finally, we note that the early months in the terms of the first elected slate of SIGecom officers constitutes the ideal time to propose new ideas for SIG activities, products, and services.  We look forward to hearing from you about what you'd like to see from the SIG, and how we can best serve our mission of supporting the e-commerce community.


Michael P. Wellman , University of Michigan (Chair) <>*
Daniel A. Menasce , George Mason University (Vice-Chair)
Peter R. Wurman , North Carolina State University (Secretary-Treasurer)

* replace the -at- in the above e-mail addresses with the @ symbol.

Sun, Oct 5, 2003 Copyright, Association for Computing Machinery